Departures

For 3 weeks in October-November, thousands of snow geese were staging on the lake near my grandmother’s house. For birds, staging means an area to rest in preparation for their voyage south to warmer weather. During the day, they invade the recently cut corn fields to bulk up to have the energy to make it. About an hour and a half before sunset, the sky would fill with a cacophony of honking as they move back to the lake for the night.

IMG_7663
We had passed several times in the previous few weeks but I didn’t have my camera with me. I stopped by the lake one beautiful evening just before sunset with my Gramma in tow. Unfortunately, her eyesight limits her ability to see them clearly but she could sure hear the noise!

IMG_7724
The best place to stop is at the boat launch, in front of the small French semi-private high school. The air was perfectly still but there was still a chill. I rolled down the window and left Gramma warm in the car. As sunset drew closer, more people stopped to witness the awesome sight. By the time I got back to the car, my hands were frozen but Gramma was still warm and content.

IMG_7733

IMG_7667

Leave a Reply

Homestead Houligan

Building a Homestead...One Lesson at a Time

Small Pond Science

Research, teaching, and mentorship in the sciences

Dynamic Ecology

Multa novit vulpes

Early Career Ecologists

Questioning, Researching, and Communicating our Science

Arthropod Ecology

Writings about arthropod ecology, arachnids & academia at McGill University

nature has no boss

images as thoughts

H.J. Ruiz - Avian101

"My Backyard Visitors" - All about birds - The world is my backyard!

