Weekly photo challenge: Window – Waitin’ and wishin’

My other cat, Corky, was originally an outdoor cat. My husband brought her to me after he found in the woods near the cottage. She was starving, young and already pregnant but she had a lovely personality that peaked through. We finally met when, coming home from work one day, I heard a tiny mew come from under the bed. She wasn’t supposed to arrive until the following week so I had not asked my landlord yet. One tenant had abandoned two cats in the tiny studio apartment and was only able to get an order to enter 2 weeks later. He was stuck with the damage and swore never to have them again. Needless to say, I was a little nervous but desperately wanted a cat. She had left such a good impression on my in-laws that I was willing to take a chance. The phone call went about like this:

Me: “Um, hey, what’s your policy on pets?”

Landlord: “You’re not allowed any.”

Me: “Would you make an exception for one cat?”

Landlord: “You already have her, don’t you?”

Me: “But she wasn’t supposed to arrive until next week!”

He sighed and agreed, as long as I met a couple of conditions. My nosy upstairs neighbour (and my landlord’s mother-in-law) didn’t find out until about 2 months later when  Corky squeezed herself between the sliding window panes while I was running the vacuum. She must have spotted her wedged flat like a pancake while I was trying to figure out how to get her out (Answer? Have now-husband take an early lunch from work) . She giddily bounced down my stairs to inquire about the cat and whether her son-in-law knew but left deflated. 

IMG_5779This was her favorite spot in another apartment. She would “talk” to the birds and have conversations with the neighbour’s cat, Clémentine.

Leave a Reply

Homestead Houligan

Building a Homestead...One Lesson at a Time

Small Pond Science

Research, teaching, and mentorship in the sciences

Dynamic Ecology

Multa novit vulpes

Early Career Ecologists

Questioning, Researching, and Communicating our Science

Arthropod Ecology

Writings about arthropod ecology, arachnids & academia at McGill University

nature has no boss

images as thoughts

H.J. Ruiz - Avian101

"My Backyard Visitors" - All about birds - The world is my backyard!

