Sarracenia flower

sarracenia_flower

While the adapted leaves of the Pitcher Plant get all the attention, the flowers also look pretty neat. During my recent visit to the bog, I had heard that the flowers were out so I wanted to get a good shot. A couple of guys were interested in what I was doing so I explained the biology of Pitcher Plant and that I wanted to find the flower. Interested, they set off on the hunt for the prize. Three-quarters of the way along the boardwalk, I had only seen the leaves so I was worried I had missed it. Further along, the two guys were successful and excitedly got my attention. Sure enough, there were dozens of conspicuous flowers suddenly punctuating the shrubby matrix.

I heard this sometime ago but cannot remember the author or the exact quote  – To know a plant or animal by name is like recognizing an old friend.

 

Leave a Reply

Homestead Houligan

Building a Homestead...One Lesson at a Time

Small Pond Science

Research, teaching, and mentorship in the sciences

Dynamic Ecology

Multa novit vulpes

Early Career Ecologists

Questioning, Researching, and Communicating our Science

Arthropod Ecology

Writings about arthropod ecology, arachnids & academia at McGill University

nature has no boss

images as thoughts

H.J. Ruiz - Avian101

"My Backyard Visitors" - All about birds - The world is my backyard!

